Schiller: Die Räuber

I just came back from a theater near my dorm where I attended “Die Räuber”, by Schiller.
It was really great! Watching it was much more enjoyable than just reading it.
When I was at highschool, I read it and made a presentation about it in class. So it was very nice to attend it live after all those years (6 years, I think?).

“The Robbers” was the first drama by Friedrich Schiller which was published in 1781.

“The plot revolves around the conflict between two aristocratic brothers, Karl and Franz Moor. The charismatic but rebellious student Karl is deeply loved by his father. The younger brother, Franz, who appears as a cold, calculating villain, plots to wrest away Karl’s inheritance. As the play unfolds, both Franz’s motives and Karl’s innocence and heroism are revealed to be complex. It is believed that the The Robbers was loosely based on real-life brothers.” (wiki)

I arrived just before the play started so I had to pay the 15 Euro ticket, as the cheaper places were already full. But I was dressing formal so it was alright. Only I got a little thirsty and had a drink in my bag but couldn’t drink because everywhere around me there were old silent people without the least movement :).
The play started at 8 p.m. and lasted till 10:45, with a short break in between at 9:30, where I had to pray, so I had to choose between missing my prayer (as the next was at 11:00) and not attending the rest of the play. So what have I done. I chose a corner where I was not noticed and made my prayer 🙂 so that I don’t lose nothing!
All in all, it was a fantastic experience, and I am planning to attend more.


Originally Posted By Laila Hussein to Thoughts & Tips at 6/28/2008 12:26:00 AM

Leave a Reply

