Internet Addiction

source: revellian.com

Definitoin

Internet addiction disorder refers to the problematic use of the Internet, including the various aspects of its technology, such as electronic mail (e-mail) and the World Wide Web.
source: minddisorders.com

Symptoms
1. Do you feel preoccupied with the Internet (do you think about previous online activity or anticipate your next online session)?
2. Do you feel the need to use the Internet for increasing amounts of time in order to achieve satisfaction?
3. Have you repeatedly made unsuccessful efforts to control, cut back or stop Internet use?
4. Do you feel restless, moody, depressed, or irritable when attempting to cut down or stop Internet use?
5. Do you stay online longer than originally intended?
6. Have you jeopardized or risked the loss of a significant relationship, job, educational or career opportunity because of the Internet?
7. Have you lied to family members, therapists or others to conceal the extent of involvement with the internet?
8. Do you use the Internet as a way of escaping from problems or of relieving a dysphoric mood (helplessness, guilt, anxiety, depression, etc.)?

source: www.netaddiction.com

If you answer yes to most of them, you need this.


source: e-aye.blogspot.com

WELVE STEP INTERNET RECOVERY PROGRAM

1) I will have a cup of coffee in the morning and read my newspaper like I used to, before the Internet.

2) I will eat breakfast with a knife and fork and not with one hand typing.

3) I will get dressed before noon.

4) I will make an attempt to clean the house, wash clothes, and plan dinner before even thinking of the Internet.

5) I will sit down and write a letter to those unfortunate few friends and family that are Internet-deprived.

6) I will call someone on the phone who I cannot contact via the Internet.

7) I will read a book … If I still remember how.

8) I will listen to those around me and their needs and stop telling them to turn the TV down so I can hear the music on the Internet.

9) I will not be tempted during TV commercials to check for email.

10) I will try and get out of the house at least once a week, if it is necessary or not.

11) I will remember that my bank is not forgiving if I forget to balance my checkbook because I was too busy on the Internet.

12) Last, but not least, I will remember that I must go to bed sometime … And the Internet will always be there tomorrow!

source:inchesawayfromsanity.blogspot.com/


Originally Posted By Laila Hussein to Thoughts & Tips at 3/10/2008 11:00:00 PM

4 Responses to “Internet Addiction”

  1. sshaikh89 Says:

    lolllll… this prbbly applies to all of the young generation. i jus gave up on fb. n rite now i use my sister’s wen i wanna chek out pics. =[ aaaaah internet!! y did u cum in my life!

  2. thypolarlife Says:

    lol. Thats awesome. Thanks for sharing.

  3. muckup Says:

    I currently have wordpress, facebook, skype and gmail open…

    ADDICTED>

  4. lailame Says:

    Thanks all for your dropping by and your comments… Nice to feel that I’m not alone in this :D. But I’m not even sure those pills work 🙂


Leave a Reply

